Living with the dark dog; depression. 

Waking up and wishing you didn’t is a thought that crosses your mind every single DAY when suffering with depression. For 4 years I’ve been diagnosed with depression along side anxiety and PTSD. It all began when I was 17 years old, I was attacked. Took advantage of and scarred for life. I won’t go into detail much more about it as it is something even to this day I struggle to speak about. My therapist wants me to go through trauma therapy but I personally do not feel ready. If there’s one thing I have learnt over the years though is the past does NOT define you. 

It’s 4am in the morning you wake up, alone. Nothing but you are your own sickening thoughts. Thoughts that make you wish you were dead. Flashbacks that make you shudder and cry uncontrollably. You are alone. This is how depression makes you feel almost all of the time, every hour of every day. It destroys you as a person. Destroys your mind, emotions and personality. 

Leave a Reply

